NSE Holidays 2019 – List of Stock Market Holidays

Holidays for the calendar year 2019

For the present fiscal year, National Stock Exchange declared the list of trading holidays.

1MahashivratriMarch 04,2019Monday
2HoliMarch 21,2019Thursday
3Mahavir JayantiApril 17,2019Wednesday
4Good FridayApril 19,2019Friday
5Maharashtra DayMay 01,2019Wednesday
6Id-Ul-Fitr (Ramzan Id)June 05,2019Wednesday
7Bakri IdAugust 12,2019Monday
8Independence DayAugust 15,2019Thursday
9Ganesh ChaturthiSeptember 02,2019Monday
10MuharramSeptember 10,2019Tuesday
11Mahatma Gandhi JayantiOctober 02,2019Wednesday
12DussehraOctober 08,2019Tuesday
13Diwali BalipratipadaOctober 28,2019Monday
14Gurunanak JayantiNovember 12,2019Tuesday
15ChristmasDecember 25,2019Wednesday

*This year Diwali is observed on Monday, 28 October 2019. On the festival day, Muhurat Trading will be conducted. Timings of Muhurat Trading shall be notified subsequently.

Sr. No.DateDayDescription
119-Feb-2019TuesdayChhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti
401-Apr-2019MondayAnnual closing
517-Apr-2019WednesdayMahavir Jayanti
619-Apr-2019FridayGood Friday
701-May-2019WednesdayMaharashtra Day
805-Jun-2019WednesdayRamzan Id
912-Aug-2019MondayBakri ID
1015-Aug-2019ThursdayIndependence Day
1102-Sep-2019MondayGanesh Chaturthi
1302-Oct-2019WednesdayMahatama Gandhi Jayanti
1612-Nov-2019TuesdayGurunanak Jayanti
Sr.NoHolidaysDateDayMorning SessionEvening Session*
1New Year's Day01-Jan-19TuesdayOpenClosed
2Republic Day26-Jan-19SaturdayClosedClosed
4Holi (2nd Day)21-Mar-19ThursdayClosedOpen
5Ram Navami13-Apr-19SaturdayClosedClosed
6Dr.Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti14-Apr-19SundayClosedClosed
7Mahavir Jayanti17-Apr-19WednesdayClosedOpen
8Good Friday19-Apr-19FridayClosedClosed
9Maharashtra Day1-May-19WednesdayClosedOpen
10Id-ul-Fitr (Ramzan ID)05-Jun-19WednesdayClosedClosed
11Bakri Id / Eid ul-Adha12-Aug-19MondayClosedOpen
12Independence Day15-Aug-19ThursdayClosedClosed
13Ganesh Chaturthi02-Sep-19MondayClosedOpen
15Mathatma Gandhi Jayanti02-Oct-19WednesdayClosedClosed
17Diwali-Laxmi Pujan**27-Oct-19SundayClosedOpen
19Guru Nanak Jayanti12-Nov-19TuesdayClosedOpen

The holidays falling on
Saturday / Sunday are as follows

Sr. No.DateDayDescription
113-Apr-19SaturdayRam Navami
214-Apr-19SundayDr.Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti
327-Oct-19SundayDiwali-Laxmi Pujan**

Market Timings

Trading on the equities segment takes place on all days of the week (except Saturdays and Sundays and holidays declared by the Exchange in advance).

The market timings of the equities segment are:

A) Pre-open session

Order entry & modification Open : 09:00 hrs
Order entry & modification Close : 09:08 hrs*

*with random closure in last one minute. Pre-open order matching starts immediately after close of pre-open order entry.

B) Regular trading session

Normal / Limited Physical Market Open : 09:15 hrs
Normal / Limited Physical Market Close : 5:30 hrs

C) Block Deal Session Timings

Morning Block Deal Window: This window shall operate between 08:45 AM to 09:00 AM.
Afternoon Block Deal Window: This window shall operate between 02:05 PM to 2:20 PM.

D) The Closing Session

The Closing Session is held between15.40 hrs and 16.00 hrs

Morning session – 10:00 AM to 05:00 PM Evening session – 05:00 PM to 11:30/11:55 PM
*5:00 PM to 9:00 PM/9:30 PM for Internationally linked Agricultural commodities

Free Demat & Trading A/c – Get up to Rs.5,500/-*